Rick Springfield – shock/denial/anger/acceptance (20th Anniversary 2024 Remaster)

Rick Springfield – shock/denial/anger/acceptance (20th Anniversary 2024 Remaster)

RICK SPRINGFIELD is releasing an updated version of his album “shock/denial/anger/acceptance“, an expanded edition celebrating the record 20th Anniversary with a 2024 Remaster. This reissue comes with no less of 16 bonus tracks.

It’s hard to imagine that this edgy, dark album with a contemporary production aura is from a musician who scored his first American chart hit in 1972, then was written off again a decade later after a string of MTV-fueled hits–including the classic “Jessie’s Girl.” But this is indeed the same Rick Springfield.
The music scene wasn’t expecting an album like “shock/denial/anger/acceptance” from Rick. It was such a high energy, rocking album that many could not believe it was Rick Springfield. He was a pop star – not a rock star.
Also known as ‘SDAA’, the album scream along at a fast pace and it will take you through every emotion mentioned in the title.

The opening song, “Perfect”, comes rocking out of the gate and you realize this is not the same old Rick Springfield you grew up with. There is more of an edge and roughness to his style and voice. That energy continues straight into the next song “I’ll Make You Happy” and gives you no time to breathe.
“Will I?” is the third straight uptempo song. This one is about infidelity and his shock and anger come through loud and clear, but I don’t think there is acceptance as he can’t let it go and seems to want her back (major denial). The anger and story seems to continue with “God Gave You to Everyone” as it mentions that she is sharing herself all around.

Since we are now at song 5, you would think you might be able to catch your breathe, but you would be wrong. “Idontwantanythingfromyou” continues on the fast pace and still seems to be a lot of anger in him. “Jesus Saves” is up next. If he is still talking about the same young lady, he feels that “Jesus saves white trash, baby like you”. Gotta love it.
“Beautiful You” finally seems to be coming up on acceptance. And then we go in to “Wasted” which might one of the best songs of the album (even though there are many of those here). A little more laid back, but not by much. A great chorus and tone to the whole song.

There’s a short little instrumental called “Shoot Your Guru” that goes into “Alien Virus”, a slow little tune and nice change of pace. “Angels of the Disappeared” is an acoustic ballad and a beautiful song. Rick’s voice has a raw sound in this track and makes you embrace all the emotions he is feeling. The song seems to be about missing & runaway children and is a very touching tribute.
“Eden” is a little upbeat with some nice orchestra and has a softer tone. “The Invisible Girl” starts back on the rock path and has a great chorus. And it picks up a little more on “My Depression”, a modern rocker. “Your Psychopathic Mother” is another great song on a long list of great songs. It slow downs and rocks out intermittently throughout it.

The last full length song on the album is “Every Night I Wake Up Screaming” and it is another highlight. A screaming rocker with some heavy drums and guitar work. It is one of the heavier songs on the album and slap out rocks. Lastly, is the short song “Open My Eyes” at only a little over a minute. It is a nice little acoustic piece where I think he fully has acceptance on the betrayal of the woman in his life.

Musically “shock/denial/anger/acceptance” was some kind of a shock indeed: Rick isn’t the bubblegum pop guy anymore, this is raw rock. The concept of the album is brilliant about all the roller coaster of emotions you go through on such a betrayal by someone you love and would never have suspected.
This SDAA Expanded 20th Anniversary 2024 Remaster adds early version of most of the songs, even more raw and rocking, including an unreleased track.
Highly Recommended

01 - Perfect.mp3
02 - I'll Make You Happy.mp3
03 - Will I_.mp3
04 - God Gave You to Everyone.mp3
05 - idontwantanythingfromyou.mp3
06 - Jesus Saves.mp3
07 - Beautiful You.mp3
08 - Wasted.mp3
09 - Shoot Your Guru.mp3
10 - Alien Virus.mp3
11 - Angels of the Disappeared.mp3
12 - Eden.mp3
13 - The Invisible Girl.mp3
14 - My Depression.mp3
15 - Your Psychopathic Mother.mp3
16 - Every Night I Wake Up Screaming.mp3
17 - Open My Eyes.mp3
18 - Perfect (Demo).mp3
19 - I'll Make You Happy (Demo).mp3
20 - Will I_ (Demo).mp3
21 - God Gave You to Everyone (Demo).mp3
22 - idontwantanythingfromyou (Demo).mp3
23 - Jesus Saves (Demo).mp3
24 - Beautiful You (Demo).mp3
25 - Wasted (Demo).mp3
26 - Alien Virus (Demo).mp3
27 - Angels of the Disappeared (Demo).mp3
28 - Eden (Demo).mp3
29 - The Invisible Girl (Demo).mp3
30 - My Depression (Demo).mp3
31 - Your Psychopathic Mother (Demo).mp3
32 - Every Night I Wake Up Screaming (Demo).mp3
33 - Hey Josephine (Demo).mp3

Link for download Rick Springfield – shock/denial/anger/acceptance : turbo
More Information

shock/denial/anger/acceptance (20th Anniversary 2024 Remaster) A new music service with official albums, singles, videos, remixes, live performances and more for Android, iOS and desktop....


Rick Springfield. 17 SONGS • 48 MINUTES • FEB 23 2024. Purchase Options. TRACKS. DETAILS. 1. Perfect. 02:57. 2. I'll Make You Happy. 03:42. 3. Will I? 03:18. 4. God Gave You to Everyone. 02:37. 5. idontwantanythingfromyou. E. 03:18. 6. Jesus Saves. 03:18. 7. Beautiful You. 02:58. 8. Wasted. 03:02. 9. Shoot Your Guru. 00:56. 10. Alien Virus. 02:28.