Icon – Right Between The Eyes 2008 Wounded Bird Records , MP3+FLAC

Icon – Right Between The Eyes 2008 Wounded Bird Records , MP3+FLAC

As requested, here’s the underrated, stupendous 1989’s album “Right Between The Eyes” from Phoenix, Arizona melodic hard rockers ICON. This is the final studio album from the band, musically mixing the rocking attack of their debut LP with the polished melodic detailed production from their second.

This Wounded Bird Records remastered release is the version to have of this pretty killer, impressive US melodic hard rock album.

Dropped by Capitol Records whom where experiencing many troubles in the second half of the Eighties, Icon recorded and released their third album by themselves (‘More Perfect Union’).
By 1988, Megaforce Worldwide / Atlantic Records were interested in the band but asked for a return to their early, US metallic style. Icon’s chief guitarist Dan Wexler was thinking to take that direction for the band as well, so they got a deal.

With a glossy production according to times and an edgy melodic hard rock delivery, “Right Between The Eyes” was recorded early in 1989 and released in August the same year.
Overall, the songs on the album run for some kind of a mix between Alice Cooper’s style at the end of the ’80s (Trash and Hey Stoopid albums) – so it’s no surprise to hear him providing guest vocals on two tracks – a bit of the AORish side of Whitesnake (1987 album), and some Hurricane.
Pure late ’80s stuff, sporting one of those iconic cover artworks from the era.

This album showcases the talents of Wexler’s genius as guitarist, one of the most underrated axe-man from the ’80s. His awesome tone and thick, imaginative chords always reminded me of Randy Rhoads, perhaps more melodious but distinctive as well.
The songs on “Right Between The Eyes” are catchy and commercial, yet meaty and powerful.

Opener ‘Right between the Eyes’ kills with its hard rocking punch, ‘Two for the Road’ follows with Cooper as guest in a duet for just another ballsy tune, then ‘Taking my Breath Away’ has a more mid-paced rhythm with some of the aforementioned Whitesnake / Hurricane influences.

Now it’s in the mid-part of the album where “Right Between The Eyes” delivers the highlights, although all songs are very good in my opinion.
‘A Far Cry’ is one of my favorite Icon songs, a true 1989’s US melodic hard rock monster, next ‘In your Eyes’ is the perfect blend of melodic hard / AOR with superb musicianship and vocal harmonies, and then ‘Holy Man’s War’ completes the trifecta with wild riffs, bouncy rhythms and Alice Cooper appearing at the mid-part providing one of his classic ‘horror’ characters.
These 3 songs worth this album alone.

But quality doesn’t end there.
‘Bad Times’ rocks simply but effectively, ‘Double Life’ bring to mind Icon’s first album with sharp riffs, same with ‘Running Under Fire’ and its indeed, fireworks stomp.
‘Forever Young’ is the semi-ballad / midtempo song on the CD (a completely re-work from previous album ‘More Perfect Union’ song), another fav of mine with its melodic rock foundation.

1 Right Between The Eyes
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2), Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach
2 Two For The Road
Written-By – Jerry Harrison (2)
3 Taking My Breath Away
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2), Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach
4 A Far Cry
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2), Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach
5 In Your Eyes
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2)
6 Holy Man's War
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2), Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach
7 Bad Times
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2)
8 Double Life
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2), Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach
9 Forever Young
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2)
10 Running Under Fire
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Jerry Harrison (2)
11 Peace & Love
Written-By – Dan Wexler, Pat Dixon (3), Tracy Wallach

Link for download Icon – Right Between The Eyes 2008 Wounded Bird : MP3 turbo
More Information

Co-released Megaforce Records & Atlantic Records. Recording information: Recorded at Chaton Recordings. Mastered at Sterling Sound. Mixed at Sigma Sound Studios, New York. Identifiers: Barcode: 7567-82010-2 Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 3 82010-2 SRC-02 M1 S4 Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 3 82010-2 SRC-02 M1 S2 Rights Society: ASCAP

Title: Right Between the Eyes Artist: Icon Label: Wounded Bird Records Product Type: COMPACT DISCS UPC: 664140820128 Genre: Industrial/Gothic Reissue of Right Between the Eyes album by Icon. They were a Hard Rock group from Phoenix that had a couple of fine albums in the 1980's. This album originally was on the Atlanti

February 26th, 2008 Catalog ID: WOU 8201 Version desc.: Reissue, Japan Label: Wounded Bird Records Format: CD Reviews: 1 review (avg. 65%)